The Ice Twins

One of Sarah’s daughters died. But can she be sure which one?

A terrifying psychological thriller perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.

A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcraft move to the tiny Scottish island Angus inherited from his grandmother, hoping to put together the pieces of their shattered lives.

But when their surviving daughter, Kirstie, claims they have mistaken her identity – that she, in fact, is Lydia – their world comes crashing down once again.

As winter encroaches, Angus is forced to travel away from the island for work, Sarah is feeling isolated, and Kirstie (or is it Lydia?) is growing more disturbed. When a violent storm leaves Sarah and her daughter stranded, Sarah finds herself tortured by the past – what really happened on that fateful day one of her daughters died?

PUBLISHER: Grand Central

FIRST PUBLISHED: 03/09/2015

  • ‘Gripping, sad, and desperately poignant, this is a debut to die for’

    Daily Mail

  • ‘Beautifully paced, teeming with psychological shivers, The Ice Twins is a notable debut’

    The Times, Best Crime Thrillers

  • ‘A magnificently creepy thriller’

    Spectator

“It's not so much my own death that is intolerable, it's the death of those around me. Because I love them. And part of me dies with them. Therefore all love, if you like, is a form of suicide"

Articles and research for The Ice Twins

The Strange World of Twins

07/12

Twins, especially identical twins, have fascinated humanity since the dawn of time. Sometimes twins are feared, sometimes twins are revered. Pre-colonial Brazilians thought twins were a product of adu…

A Little Island Off Skye

07/12

My personal association with the beautiful, inaccessible tidal islet of Eilean Sionnach, just off Isle Ornsay in Skye, goes back to my own childhood. Though I didn’t know it at the time. And I certain…

How to be scary: What I learned when writing The Ice Twins

07/12

How can a writer be scary? How can you evoke a sense of fear or menace with the printed word? It is, of course, the question all aspiring authors of a ghost story, or a psychological chiller, must ask…

Locations mentioned in The Ice Twins

Newsletter

Email-icon

Sign up for my email newsletter - and get a free short story

Sign up here for regular updates on my latest books, events, festivals, and mad hunt for new ideas! Subscribers will also be sent a free short story to enjoy.